2012 Christopher Columbus Foundation-Distinguished Life Science Award

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce strongly supports American industry dedicated to protecting human health through the testing, manufacturing and marketing of biomedical products. As scientific innovation of biomedical products begins at the lab bench, the Chamber has formed a partnership with the Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation, a Federal government agency with the mission of promoting and encouraging new discoveries, to recognize, through four monetary awards, one adult scientist; one high school educators; and two high school students who are judged to exemplify excellence in the field of life sciences. IN order to be nominated for the award the scientist must compete in order to be nominated. In order to qualify to paricipate in the competion all competitors must live in the United States, must be participating in an ongoing project related to science, the nominee must also have contributed to the human race through some sort of achievement made in the past.

The Christopher Columbus foundation is awarding the successful and promising sciences in the life science field to help enable them to stay focused on their goals and remember their contributions to the human race. Awarding those who have worked hard for their achievements is a great way to promote further achievements of the winning scientists as well as thank them for their hard work and  perseverance.

(Source: ccolumbusfoundationawards.org)

Alan T Waterman Award

On March 8th the (NSF) National Science Foundation named two young scientists, Robert Wood of Harvard University and Scott Aaronson of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), to receive this year’s Waterman award.The annual award recognizes an outstanding researcher under the age of 35 in any field of science or engineering NSF supports. Congress established the Alan T. Waterman Award in August 1975 to mark the 25th Anniversary of the National Science Foundation and to honor its first Director. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $1,000,000 over a five year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of their choice.

Scott Aaronson is an associate professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT and Robert J. Wood is an associate professor in Harvard’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

I believe the Waterman award is a good way to help encourage young scientist push theirselves to be the best they can be. Since the Waterman award includes a million dollar grant to any intitution the receiver chooses, it shows how the people who sponser the award value education.

(Source: nsf.gov)

UNESCO Lawyers Challenge Controversial Obiang Prize

(Obiang Nguema Mbasogo)

In his article UNESCO Lawyers Challenge Controversial Obiang Prize (2012) Jop de Vrieze explains the great controversy over the names that appear on the Obiang prize. Jop is aware that the Obiang Nguema Mbasogo Foundation for the preservation of life no longer provides funds to UNESCO and he feels the name of the prize should not change because the Obiang foundation is credited with originally founding the award. Jop wants to inform his audience about the confusion revolving around the prestigious Obiang prize in order to shine light on the fact that the entire award has been suspended. Jop’s audience includes anyone who is connected to or interested in life or humanitarian based sciences.

Although I don’t know a lot about the background of the Obiang prize it seems to be a well known and prestigious award in the science community. In order to fix the problem of the credentials involving the award its designers should consider including the name of the Obiang Foundation as well as the new financial provider The Public Treasury of Equitorial Guinea. Jop does a good job at organizing his article in a fashion that made it easier for his audience to retain information.

(Source: news.sciencemag.org)